Uncategorized

What does “paintain” mean?

A couple people have asked me what paintain means.

Well, it’s a verb you can use to describe the maintenance of a package that is a pain-in-the-you-know-where to maintain. 🙂 Hopefully Fedora Community helps take away at least some of the pain of maintaining these packages.

About Máirín Duffy

Máirín is a principal interaction designer at Red Hat. She is passionate about software freedom and free & open source tools, particularly in the creative domain: her favorite application is Inkscape. You can read more from Máirín on her blog at blog.linuxgrrl.com.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “What does “paintain” mean?

  1. Thanks for the explanation lovely Mairin,
    I was wondering myself.
    Can this be used also when referring to a human being ?

    J.

    Posted by Jack | June 12, 2009, 7:34 am
  2. Well lovely Mairin,

    after having paintained _that_ human being I’m (not very) happy to announce I’m being a single male again….

    Do you know of any reverse paintain verb I could use now ?

    J.

    Posted by Jack | June 17, 2009, 3:10 pm