Uncategorized

Another Shameless Font Packaging Request

You know you want to package Beteckna Fonts for Fedora, right? You know you want to be or want to enable the next Barbara Kruger but in a totally free software / free-license way, right?

Do the right thing. Package Beteckna today!

Cat photo from “Amakum-olan Mills” by rogerimp on Flickr under a Creative Commons 2.0 Attribution license.

p.s. Thanks to Gürkan Sengün for letting the Fedora Fonts SIG know about this cool font!

About Máirín Duffy

Máirín is a principal interaction designer at Red Hat. She is passionate about software freedom and free & open source tools, particularly in the creative domain: her favorite application is Inkscape. You can read more from Máirín on her blog at blog.linuxgrrl.com.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Another Shameless Font Packaging Request

  1. What do I need to do?

    Actually I was looking for a Futura based font for a D&D module.. since the original D&D items used a New Gothic or Futura depending on who you talked to.

    Posted by Anonymous | October 31, 2008, 9:57 pm
  2. package cat. hehehehehe.

    Posted by Anonymous | October 31, 2008, 11:03 pm
  3. Droid fonts

    There’s another high-quality font with extensive Unicode coverage that just became available under the Apache license: the Android font “Droid”…

    http://www.ascendercorp.com/pr/pr2007_11_12.html
    http://damieng.com/blog/2007/11/14/droid-font-family-courtesy-of-google-ascender

    It would be great to have this packaged for Fedora too!

    Posted by Anonymous | November 1, 2008, 6:04 am
    • Re: Droid fonts

      Hey thanks for the tip! 🙂 I’m glad to hear it has been put under an open license. Garrett had mentioned it to me some weeks ago but at the time the license was still up in the air. I’ll file the wishlist request and campaign for it next 🙂 🙂

      Posted by mairin | November 2, 2008, 1:16 am
  4. Great font, thanks for the tip!

    Now I can throw Futura out of my font collection.

    Posted by Anonymous | November 1, 2008, 4:52 pm
  5. I strongly, STRONGLY encourage the use of package cat in many more future requests.

    It would be nice to have something familiar that I can look at when I contemplate whether I have the time or skills to do such packaging before deciding I do not. Enough times, and the irresistable kittany of it all might make me LEARN those skills and MAKE that time.

    Yay cats!

    Posted by navalfuzzies | November 2, 2008, 5:22 am
  6. Now for the next font request you have to do a “i can has font”…

    I am frustrated with my cat, he’s perfect for lolcats (100% black)), I have some neat ideas[*], but he’s totally uncooperative for photo shooting (i don’t blame him, he had some bad experiences when he was a kitten).

    [*] something like “the basement cat does not want you to try the latest fedora”

    Posted by nicubunulj | November 3, 2008, 7:37 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Unpackaged Font of the Week: m+ fonts « mairin - October 7, 2009